Make your own free website on

The Committee of Public Safety By : Ryan Torrey

Home | Reign of Terror | Members | Many Faces of the Committee | The Destruction of the Committee

Register of the decisions of the Committee of Public Safety, 22 October 1793, signed by Robespierre

The Committee of Public Safety was established by the National Convention in 1793.  Originally consisting of nine members of the convention, it was formed as an administrative body to supervise and show the work of the executive bodies of the convention and of the government ministers appointed by the convention.
The leaders of this committee were in charge of the military movements and everything else that associates with them.

The Girondins became the most influential party in the Convention and on the Committee. The Committee also consisted of Republicans and other parties involved. Just as it is today, the Girondin party is in control as the republicans are in control of the U.S.

The French Revolution